All About Me – What is BBT?

This post is in response to Daily Prompt – All About Me

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

83 days ago I was searching my pocket OXFORD dictionary and online Thesaurus for some positive, awesome, eye-catching words to name a website I wanted to create. At that point of time I wanted to write more about my shopping and cosmetics. I had also been wanting to improve my writing skills so I had decided to present my cosmetics pudding with a sprinkle of writing.

I noted down all the words, some unusual, in my diary. I filled 7 pages but nothing seemed to click and they sounded artificial and forced.
The usual words – Beauty, Shopping, Ravishing, Fashionista, Shopaholic, Addicted, Junkie, Classy, Chic, Genius, Materialistic, Spiritual, Writer, Amateur, Fabulous, Global, Desi, Stylish, Smart, Fun, Fantastic, Amazing, Wonderful, Natural, Beautiful, Expensive etc etc

It took me a couple of days to realize that a made up phrase wasn’t going to work for me. So I decided to meditate on it. Haha, Gotcha. I wish I was that mature. I actually went ahead, ate a chocolate and made a pack of instant Noodles (Maggi) and later called my mother to talk about how difficult things always were for me, how it comes easily to every one else, How all the good titles were already taken etc etc. (add a few tears to this conversation). Yup, I am a drama queen. And in her loving tone she calmed me down, gave me some advice based on Bhagavad Gita and then asked to me go out for a walk and listen to music. As an obedient child, I did. The answer eluded me that night but I was somehow able to distract myself from this (pressing) issue.

I woke up next morning and started on my mission again. My husband had noticed that I had been scribbling in my notepad for many days so he casually asked about it. I showed my detailed ‘research’ to him. He suggested to add simple words rather than the synonyms of simple words from the Thesaurus. He even tried random website name generators for my sake but nothing sounded good enough to me (Yes I am a snob too). Fed up, he went to office and I scribbled in my notebook for the rest of the day. I still couldn’t find anything and when he came home, I was in my usual “Why does it happen to me?” mode. He just said,”Register ‘with any damn phrase’.”
That just made me furious. I am perfectionist and I wanted a perfect name for my website.

In desperate need of progress, I opened my laptop and checked for available domains and tried for a few names like ‘Global Lifestyles’, ‘Global Fashion’, ‘Indian Fashion and Beauty’, ‘Fetish for Cosmetics’, ‘über Chic’, ‘Fabulous Me’ etc. They just did not resonate with me. Many other fabulous ones were already taken in .com domain. I had planned to start my blog and then shortly convert it into a website (.com) so I wanted the name to be unique, simple, very me, a little open-ended which I could buy a .com domain for, later. I gave up and cooked dinner. After dinner I opened YouTube to watch my favorite beauty guru talk about cosmetics. Anything beauty related just helps me relax and feel happy. My husband tried to cheer me up again and teased me saying ‘Why don’t you share your BEAUTY TIPS‘?

And then it hit me. I should use those two words. They will also make my blog easy to find and will effortlessly fit into a nice catchy phrase. I played with a few more random words to add to BEAUTY and TIPS when ‘Beyond’ occurred to me. It just made a lot of sense.

A blog with other things in addition to Beauty – “Beyond Beauty Tips” (BBT)

I created my free blog on WordPress and then participated in Weekly Photo Challenge for my first post. I got a very good response to my blog right from the first week even though it cannot be termed as a huge/overnight success. Things do not always go according to plan so when I reached a certain number of followers on BBT, I decided to keep it a non-beauty blog and create an exclusively beauty website. We are making a steady progress on both BBT and my website.

PS: I did worry about BBT sounding like the hazardous DDT. But then all publicity is good publicity, right?

PPS: I have never received any traffic from search engines for ‘beauty websites’ (BUMMER!).

Did you like my story? What does your blog name mean to you? How did you come up with that name?

Related posts by fellow WordPress-ers:

Thank you for visiting my little home in blogosphere. Have a great day!

About RituKT

Creator of blogs "Things To Rave About" and "Shopping Escapades. I consider myself a - Blogger, Writer, Shopaholic, Makeup Junkie, Voracious Reader, Quick Learner!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Daily Prompts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All About Me – What is BBT?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What Readers Say About Me | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me- As Usual « Big Bowl Of Thought Soup

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – All About Me – The (Mostly True) Origin Story of TooFullToWrite | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me … The beginning of Lent | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me | My.Vivid.Visions

Say what?

